*Individual results may vary

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Jennifer P. | View Source | September 4, 2018
Thank you Steve and the whole team. I felt like I was in good hands the whole time. I never felt rushed in our meetings and always felt like you were looking out for me. Your calm demeanor and wit made me feel right at home. I would gladly recommend you and your team.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Lucy L. | View Source | October 1, 2018
Mr. Stephen Hosford is a fair & knowledgeable. I was impressed by his excellent communication skills & his ability to get to the truth, I really appreciated his tenacity paid off for my son & I. I had worked with 2 other local attorneys & they basically took my money & didn't get anything done. With Mr. Hosford we had 2 hearings & the custody issues were resolved. I would recommend him to anyone who's looking for an attorney. I will be forever thankful.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from M. R. | View Source | June 8, 2018
John represented me through my divorce and subsequent custody/support modification request. I am so thankful for the way he guided me to a positive outcome on both occasions. He was sincere and worked hard to execute my wishes. I really felt like he cared about my situation. Ami and all of the office staff were kind, professional and responsive to my needs. I would definitely recommend Hosford & Hosford.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Alex M. | View Source | June 4, 2018

The Hosford team is solid.  They represented me in a high conflict custody battle, and while the outcome was not as we had hoped, their professionalism was the best among any attorney I have used to date. Their communication was good and John was excellent!

Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Mary W. | View Source | May 28, 2018
Honestly the best experience with a law firm to date, and unfortunately have experience with plenty so that means a lot. Entire staff is extremely friendly and attentive, from when you walk in and speak to the lovely ladies working the front, to getting paperwork done with the extremely knowledgeable paralegals in the back. Both Stephan and John helped me out more than I thought possible, to get my kids back, as well as through my divorce. They are busy, but for a reason - they have a lot to do, and know how to do it. Even being busy, I was still able to speak personally with John more than enough to help me feel comfortable and calm in a tense situation, feeling confident that all of Hosford & Hosford was behind me, doing what needed to be done to prepare paperwork and for the trial so that my children could be safe.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Dave C. | View Source | May 15, 2018
Had an excellent experience with John and the staff professional intelligent yet Down to Earth. I give him Seven Stars if it was allowed. I highly recommend them.

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Bill |
Dear Steve Hosford and Staff, When meeting you at that first conference, I left the office feeling there is someone who truly understands and wants to help in the situation I was confronted with. I was in a state of shock and put into a very dark space. I have nothing but good things to say to my friends about you and your staff! You have all been so understanding and helpful. In a day and age when customer service is non-existent your staff goes the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and appreciated. Have always felt a feeling of dread when pushing that button to go up to the second floor but when leaving and hitting the button to go down there is a feeling of calm. You and the staff are more then just a legal office to me. Anyone who wants to ride horse or run some model trains is always welcome at the Obermeyer Ranch. Taking your advice and traveling. Have been invited to Germany to see some friends who live there and have a barn with horses with a place for me to stay the entire month of May. I will be putting on an equestrian obstacle course clinic for the horse boarders. So this old cowboy will be riding horses in Germany and I guess drinking beer after with a lot of ladies at a barn so my kind of get away! None of this possible without you and the staff at your office. Thank you so much Steve.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Jennifer S. | View Source | March 29, 2018

John Hoford did everything right in our child custody case.  From the beginning,  our family was determined to fight for our kids while remaining always truthful, kind, and reasonable. We refused to stoop to the despicable tactics of the opposing side and were rewarded by getting every single thing we requested for our kids, in a remarkably short amount of time. John used his law expertise but also decency, common sense, and problem-solving to present a holistic and honest analysis to the court while destroying the smoke and mirrors concocted by the opposing side. Thusly, the judge was able to more easily determine the truth and rule accordingly. The big winners are our kids and we feel grateful for John's guidance and relieved that we can now focus fully on our kids--emotionally, physically, and financially. John is a true badass. You will not find a more dedicated, compassionate, family-oriented family law attorney. If you want results, ethically produced, get John on your team, stat!

Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Karen Z. | View Source | February 8, 2018
Valerie Hosford was knowledgeable, driven and determined to see that I got the best possible outcome in an emotional time of my life. I felt that she genuinely cared about my well-being and made me feel at ease and confident that I would be okay. Her determination and hard work brought me a very favorable end result without having to enter a courtroom. I'm glad I found her and would recommend her to anyone having to go through a divorce.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Melissa M. | View Source | January 29, 2018
While I wouldn't have chosen to go through a divorce, I can say that working with Valerie Hosford made the process go smoothly.  Valerie was always accessible and very knowledgeable in handling all of the issues that needed to be taken care of.  She worked closely with me on issues pertaining to child custody, child support, spousal support and sorting out a very complicated restraining order issue.  I highly recommend Hosford & Hosford.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
View Source | February 15, 2018
2017! We moved to San Jose in July. Alaina started Kindergarten and loves going to school with her cousins. We are both doing great! Thanks for all the love and support! Here's to 2018!
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
View Source | February 15, 2018
Dear Steve & John,
Thank you for everything you did for my sister and niece. We truly owe our wonderful situation now to you both. Thank you for bringing my sister home to me. She didn't think you would want this picture but I think for how hard you both works on her case, I think it's a nice reminder of a "job well done"!
P.S. I wrote you guys a great Yelp review.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
View Source | February 15, 2018
Thank you for all of your hard work, advice, and help with the divorce and tax problems.
 
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
View Source | February 15, 2018
Jonathan,
Thank you for all your work on my divorce. It was pleasure to know you and I appreciate when I was able to laugh with you about the antics of the other party. The boys and I are settling wonderfully in Coeur d'Alene. I hope you were able to enjoy the holidays with your family, let me know if you ever find yourself in North Idaho.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Bob P. | View Source | December 11, 2018
I honestly hope my family never needs a lawyer for any situation again, especially something as difficult, scary and heart-wrenching as one involving a custody battle of a small child, but if I do, I would not hesitate to call on Steve and John Hosford again. We were so lucky to find them and they helped us through an extremely stressful and dark three years in the court system. With Steve and John's guidance, knowledge and professionalism, my family navigated the confusing and overwhelming legal system and WON!!!! Not only do these gentlemen know their trade, they are highly respected in the legal circles of San Luis Obispo and it really shows. Thank you to Hosford & Hosford for being excellent at what you do!
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Susan M. |
Dear Jonathan, I just wanted to thank you very much for helping Sarah on her journey. I feel you really had her best interest in mind. While the journey was difficult, the end result is freedom and new beginnings! you were very thoughtful and kind. I found this file at my parents house and thought of you. I know you were the right person for Sarah's divorce. Thank you again.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Bonnie A. | View Source | August 30, 2017
During a contested time with high stress and elevated emotions there is only one thing to put your mind at ease - a professional in your corner that you can implicitly trust. This was my experience with John Hosford and his staff at Hosford & Hosford. John fought my fight like it was his own and genuinely cared about me and my family. He took a situation that I had deemed impossible, unraveled the chaos and set us on a course that ended in a fair and reasonable reality that I could continue life with. John has unique abilities beyond great legal counsel that allow you to face your situation with confidence. I would highly recommend Hosford & Hosford for your family legal needs...hands down.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Heather H. | | July 28, 2017
Thank you SO MUCH for your assistance and success on my behalf with the Predatory Ramsey Debt Relief Co. I I don't have to tell you what a shocking crisis that was for me and my pitiful pension. Thank you a million times over for putting those rascals in their place and saving my dignity - never again to answer unsolicited financial offers. You were/are magnificent and my enduring thanks to the senior alliance! If you ever need Spanish translation, call on me - former Cuesta Spanish professor. Your biggest fan, Heather.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Sarah H. | View Source | June 5, 2017
I would definitely recommend John Hosford at Hosford and Hosford. I came to John for my Divorce and Custody issues.  This was my first experience obtaining a Lawyer. I had no clue really what my expectation would be for a Lawyer.  Since day one he was in my corner fighting for my cause. I can truly say that he had my best interest at heart.  He was supportive, honest, fair, with impeccable integrity.  He was smart and tactful to overcame the many obstacles in my case. We had to go to court three times before we came to a settlement. Watching John in the court room solidified that I choose the right Lawyer. The staff at Hosford and Hosford was amazing as well.  They where friendly and knew my case. Any questions I had they had the answers to or found out for me in a timely manner. Going through such a stressful, emotional experience I could not imagine having another Lawyer than John Hosford.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Deann G. | View Source | September 7, 2016
John Hosford ESQ is an outstanding family law attorney! He is a sharp strategist who clearly explains the legal process to his clients and what is necessary to win a custody case.  During a very emotional and stress time and process, he always demonstrated patience, kindness, compassion and a genuine caring for me as his client. John's responsiveness, knowledge and authenticity made feel secure during this ordeal which I can gladly say is over and resulted in a favorable outcome. I highly recommend Mr. John Hosford ESQ without reservation.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Alicia B. | View Source | March 18, 2016
Absolutely by far the best law firm in San Luis Obispo County. Between myself and my husband we have used about 8 different law firms for custody/divorce issues in this county. None of them come close to the experience I received at this office. Dealing with custody issues is one of the most gut wrenching scary situations to be in. I have primary custody of my child and was using John Hosford to try and help with a small disagreement between myself and my childs father. Out of the blue I was served with papers to try and take primary custody away. Needless to say this small disagreement turned into a full on battle and I sure as hell picked the right attorney to lead me through this. I can't say enough wonderful things about all of the staff at this office. Seth, Ami, Jennifer....Everyone knew my name, my case, court dates, items that we were still trying to collect. I was overwhelmed with the amount of support and calls I received to help me track down information and keep me posted on the case. As I said dealing with custody issues can be very scary and the worst is when you have an attorney that doesn't take your case as anything more then a job and rarely gives you updates. One thing I can guarantee is that John and his staff take your case very seriously and have an emotional investment in the outcome. I have never used an attorney I knew cared about myself my child and making sure he did what was right. I can count a handful of times through this long process that I received a call from John on his cell phone leaving the courthouse because he couldn't wait to tell me about the outcome. I can promise you absolutely will not find another attorney that cares this much about you. My Case recently has come to an end and I can not have asked for a better outcome. All the points that John and I discussed in the very beginning as being important issues were not only met but ended up exceeding my original request. My son is still with me and all our financial issues were fixed. You definitely can not complain when you end up in a better situation then before all this started!! However, I want to make it very clear that even if I would not have received the amazing outcome i did my review of this firm would still be the same. I can say with 110% certainty that this office did absolutely everything they could for me and I could not have asked for anything more.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Toni M. | View Source | February 16, 2017
Dear Mr. Steve Hosford, I want to thank you so very much from the bottom of my heart, for all that you have done for my case. And especially for being a man of your word and then some. I was, and still am, in shock for your utmost kindness, and thoughtfulness when I opened [my] last billing from your office. I literally fell to my knees with tears rolling down my face, thanking the good Lord for such a positive encounter with you and your office. Something that was long overdue. I cannot express enough gratitude and appreciation for everything. You, and your office staff are the absolute most professional, knowledgeable, thoughtful, kind, caring Attorney firm I have ever encountered. My life can now go on knowing there are still such wonderful people left in this world today. Thank you again so very very much. Sincerely, Toni
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Toni M. | View Source | February 16, 2017
Hosford & Hosford and Staff, Thank you all for every single thing you have done on my case. You all are the most professional, knowledgeable, caring staff I have ever encountered! Kudos!! Seth, thank you for all your hard work, patience and such a good attitude. You gave me the strength to get this over with!! Bless you all.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Bri B. | View Source | January 5, 2017
Where to begin. Well lets start first with a BIG THANK YOU to Mr. Stephen Hosford, our attorney. A BIG THANK YOU to the staff, Ami, Seth, and now Lindsey! I'm sorry to those of you that Im not sure of your names, but I greatly THANK YOU as well for your time and efforts in helping with our case. To me you all are truly angels on earth, people who care and understand! I contacted Hosford&Hosford in regards to custody of my daughter. I had been served paperwork by the opposing party, of course full of a litany of lies to build their false case. I had actually tried to hire two other attorneys before finding Hosford family law. I had never needed an attorney before and had no idea where to begin, so I began contacting every family law firm that I could. The other two attorneys I had tried hiring were not promising, after one phone call to one of the two other attorneys, I cried for two hours after being told that basically in order to keep custody of my daughter I would have to put her on the stand, she is only 8. There's much more to all of that but I wont bore you with the details. I called Hosford family law, at my wits end, in dire need of an attorney who actually CARED about my case and my daughters BEST INTERESTS. Unfortunately I sprang this on them last minute. When I called Ami answered, what an amazing woman! She greatly calmed me and put me at ease, letting me know they could definitely take our case and not to worry. I still worried, this was one of the most gut wrenching ordeals our family has ever been through. The other two attorneys I tried were only looking at our case as their next paycheck in my opinion. They had no interest in the time my daughter has been in my custody (her entire life). They didn't care what would be in her best interest, they didn't ask the basic necessary questions. Those basic necessary and completely valid questions were asked over the phone by Ami before I ever met with Mr. Hosford. Once I met with him we dove into the details, and he assured me that her best interests would be kept, they were! After meeting with Mr. Hosford, I had more peace but still was uneasy due to the case in its entirety. The staff worked quickly and efficiently to make sure all the necessary paperwork was in place and the case was ready for court. Mr. Hosford had given me an idea of how he believed things would be handled by the judge, multiple scenarios and prepared us for all outcomes possible. I'm happy to say it went even better than he had stated. We all were able to come to an agreement so that we could all move forward in the best interest of our daughter. I know for a fact had I had any other attorney I wouldn't have had the same outcome. If you are in need of an attorney, and not just any attorney, but an attorney that truly cares about you, your family, and your case on more than a business level, this is who you want! For me being a single parent on a limited income it was difficult for me to come up with any funds for an attorney, however we made it happen! It was worth every penny and as I told Hosford family law you can't put a price on saving your child, I don't care what the cost would've ended up being because they are worth their weight in gold. If I ever need an attorney for family law again I will be using Hosford family law. I recommend them to anyone that has to go through anything family law related. You will not be disappointed, you will not be let down. I chose them as our law firm after reading the reviews here and elsewhere. So I'd also like to thank those of you that also reviewed. Had I not read those reviews I'm not sure I would have found Hosford family law, or considered them. So I greatly appreciate you all as well for sharing your experience.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Alicia B. | View Source | March 18, 2016
Absolutely by far the best law firm in San Luis Obispo County.  Between myself and my husband we have used about 8 different law firms for custody/divorce issues in this county.  None of them come close to the experience I received at this office.  Dealing with custody issues is one of the most gut wrenching scary situations to be in.  I have primary custody of my child and was using John Hosford to try and help with a small disagreement between myself and my childs father.  Out of the blue I was served with papers to try and take primary custody away.  Needless to say this small disagreement turned into a full on battle and I sure as hell picked the right attorney to lead me through this.  I can't say enough wonderful things about all of the staff at this office. Seth, Ami, Jennifer....Everyone knew my name, my case, court dates, items that we were still trying to collect.  I was overwhelmed with the amount of support and calls I received to help me track down information and keep me posted on the case.  As I said dealing with custody issues can be very scary and the worst is when you have an attorney that doesn't take your case as anything more then a job and rarely gives you updates.  One thing I can guarantee is that John and his staff take your case very seriously and have an emotional investment in the outcome.  I have never used an attorney I knew cared about myself my child and making sure he did what was right.  I can count a handful of times through this long process that I received a call from John on his cell phone leaving the courthouse because he couldn't wait to tell me about the outcome.  I can promise you absolutely will not find another attorney that cares this much about you. My Case recently has come to an end and I can not have asked for a better outcome.  All the points that John and I discussed in the very beginning as being important issues were not only met but ended up exceeding my original request.  My son is still with me and all our financial issues were fixed.  You definitely can not complain when you end up in a better situation then before all this started!!  However, I want to make it very clear that even if I would not have received the amazing outcome i did my review of this firm would still be the same.  I can say with 110% certainty that this office did absolutely everything they could for me and I could not have asked for anything more. Thank you so much John and everyone :-) I know the office is going to miss my millions of phone calls.  Thank you everyone for the understanding hearts I was always greeted with and the compassion for my family in having to deal with a case like this.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Adam K. | View Source | February 24, 2016
Mr. Hosford is very talented, experienced, dedicated and thorough. He is the ultimate family lawyer. I was very worried. Since, my ex was going out of her way to ruin me. Although Mr. Hosford reasoned logically. I was not [relieved] till he won the case, brought in justice and peace of mind. Thanks very much Mr. Hosford.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Melanie R. | View Source | February 21, 2015
The best Law firm in SLO county!!! I would highly recommend any one of the attorneys in this office. I worked with Stephen Hosford and was very satisfied with the MSA he prepared for me. Anyone needing legal representation I would highly recommend Hosford & Hosford. Fast, friendly and very  professional.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Zack Z. | View Source | November 7, 2014
I retained the services of Hosford & Hosford to help with a divorce that had gotten much more complicated than I had originally expected.  Finding an attorney was a very intimidating process.  I had never hired one before, and had no idea where to start or who to trust. I found it difficult to find good information online, and I was reluctant to ask too many of my friends, as I considered it a personal matter. I picked Hosford & Hosford originally because they had had a long history in the area, and as a local, that made me more comfortable.  I wanted to hire someone who was familiar with the local court system, and who knew all of the people involved (clerks, judges, etc.).  I almost didn't consult with them at all because I would have to pay for the initial consultation.  There were a lot of lawyer ads that offered free initial consultations.  But it wasn't that much, and I knew that I was in over my head. Even if I wasn't going to retain them, I knew I could use some good, honest direction.  That is exactly what I got. I was represented by John Hosford, and from the very first meeting, I felt like he took my issues seriously.  I knew right away that I was going to have an advocate. Not just someone who would help me get through the process, but someone who was going to fight for me.   He immediately obtained my records, assessed my situation, and started moving to protect me.   He led me through the entire process, answering any questions I had, and giving me some great financial management advice along the way. Ami was my main point of contact with their office, and I didn't have a single question or request that didn't get handled immediately.  She was always super friendly and professional. Overall, I had a great experience with Hosford & Hosford, and would wholeheartedly recommend them.  The divorce was not fun in any way, but they made it a great deal less painful for me, and I forever grateful.
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Margaret | View Source
Val & Steve, I just wanted to thank you for your excellent and professional treatment of me during a stressful time. Your office staff Amy and Jen were always helpful and welcoming. You run a tight ship - Thank you for that. Margaret
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Client | View Source
One of our clients made this after prevailing in his case.  His post retirement hobby/profession is machining engine parts for model A fords out of aircraft aluminum.


Gift-From-Client
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Margaret | View Source
Hi John, I Just wanted to say to you how much I appreciated your professional and respectful treatment of me during our legal negotiations. You put me at ease and make me feel confident about my decision. Thank you very much John. PS I would recommend your services to anyone with real assurance of your expertise. Margaret
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Julie | View Source
Stephen (and Ami) I am so grateful! Thank you again and again with much love, Julie

Thank-You-Card-With-Flowers
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Faith | View Source
Amazing what a year can do! i want to thank you for all that you have done for and with me! this past year has been one of the most challenging, yet enduring because i was able to hold my trust into your care and that of the lords, thank you! thank you for keeping me calm even when i had lost my balance and way. thank you for walking with me to get through the other side of being married. i look forward to the future new beginning this has provided. with grace & gratitude. ThankYou
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Joe | View Source
Thank you for your generosity!

Hosford_Thank-You
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Carolyn | View Source
When i filed for a divorce in 1984 several years later i found to my surprise that there were a couple of things that weren't taken care of. I told a relative of mine I was having a problem with my ex, and needed to see a lawyer. He told me he had a great lawyer by the name of Steve Hosford. This was in 1997; I went to him and hired him. What he did for me on my Government pension was great. I have to say that he really works hard for you, has a wonderful staff and wife, and is always pleasant and kind, through the years I have sent people, which I have worked with, to Steve. They all have been very satisfied. Anytime I needed a question or guidance I can call Steve and he suggest to me what to do. About two years ago, I needed an immigration lawyer here in Orange County for a friend. He gave me the name and we later hired him. We were very pleased on how everything worked out. I called Steve about three weeks ago here in Orange County to see about getting a consultation for my son In a divorce matter. I was not aware that he had finally moved to San Luis Obispo. The receptionist that answered remembered me and put me through to Steve. Like always, he was there to help guide me through. He gave me a lawyer down here to have my son go to. My son was very pleased with his lawyer and hired her immediately. Through the twenty-one years of !mowing Steve and his wife they have both been very helpful, kind, and will always be there for you. Thank you Steve for being a great friend and a wonderful lawyer. hh-testimonial
Read more »

(5 out of 5 stars)
Review from Karen |
Valerie, I must tell you something and I hope it’s not too awfully late. I am just now appreciating the work you’ve done for me and apologized for this late thank you. I’m sure that I thanked you for all you’ve done but I also know that I didn’t understand the depth of it. My head was in a cloud of numbers, expenses and fears about what would become of my financial security over the course of ALL of last year. I was just grateful to have the settlement done and over with this year. Today I spent a great deal of time reading through documents, charts and letters from you and the opposing counsel. Of course I did read these things as they came through but as I said, I was in cloud of angst and fear. The reason I was going through these 5 inches of paperwork that I have, is that I was looking for the expense declaration and all details that related to my future so that I could compile it into a very concise and accurate declaration for my financial planner. I read through some of these letters with a better understanding and I see how diligent and staunch you were in your determination to get what you felt I deserved. I was even shocked at reading some of [name omitted] proposals of how he proposed that this agreement should play out. Then I saw how it ended up playing out. You worked hard and got everything to a place where I feel comfortable and peaceful. In my mind you won and made it all work for me…not in a greedy way… in a fair way. So please accept my thank you and gratefulness for helping me to get beyond this horrendous hump in my life. I’m sure you’ve seen a LOT worse, especially when everyone has to go to court and there are children involved… or when there is more money involved. But each case is just as important to your client so I appreciate your efforts to help me gain my security back…self esteem and respect as well as financial.
Read more »